Best Heated Clothes Airers UK 2026: Running Costs Compared
Six three-tier heated airers you can buy now, with the cost per hour, per drying session and over five years worked out at the October 2026 price cap. We also set each one against a tumble dryer.
Updated 9 October 2026
· 12 min read

The short answer
The Lakeland Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier with its cover is the best heated airer for most homes. It has a 12-hour timer, a three-year guarantee and the cover in the bundle, for £194.98. If you want to spend half that, the Black+Decker 3-Tier has the same 300W rating and 21m of space for £99.99.
- 26.32p/kWh
- Electricity price used
- 7.9p
- Typical 300W airer, per hour
- 47p
- Per 6-hour session
- about 90p
- Vented tumble dryer, per load
We are independent and no brand paid to appear here. If you buy through a link we may earn a small commission; it never changes the order. How we are paid.
The shortlist at a glance
| No. | Product | Rating | Price | Cost to own | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 01 | Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover BundleBest overall | 9.1/10 | £194.98 | £379.75Cost over 5 years | Lakeland |
| 02 | Black+Decker 63099 3-Tier Heated AirerBest value | 8.6/10 | £99.99 | £284.76Cost over 5 years | Robert Dyas |
| 03 | Dry:Soon 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover BundleBest with a cover | 8.4/10 | £164.98 | £349.75Cost over 5 years | Lakeland |
| 04 | Dunelm 3 Tier Heated Airer | 8.0/10 | £95 | £298.24Cost over 5 years | Dunelm |
| 05 | Minky sureDRI 3 Tier Heated Airer | 7.7/10 | £119 | £303.77Cost over 5 years | Currys |
| 06 | Beldray EH3786 3 Tier Heated Airer | 7.4/10 | £94.99 | £279.76Cost over 5 years | Beldray |
How we did the sums
How we put this guide together
We did not run our own drying tests. We compared the published specifications of every three-tier heated airer we could find on sale at major UK retailers in October 2026. Then we worked out what each one costs to run and to own, read the guarantee terms, and pooled owner reviews from the retailers that sell them.
Running costs use the Ofgem price cap for 1 October to 31 December 2026: 26.32p per kWh for electricity, the GB average for Direct Debit customers. Cost per hour is rated wattage ÷ 1,000 × 26.32p. A 300W airer uses 0.3kWh an hour, so it costs 0.3 × 26.32p = 7.9p an hour. The 330W Dunelm model uses 0.33kWh, which is 8.7p an hour.
For the yearly figure we assume a fairly heavy indoor drying routine: three 6-hour sessions a week for 26 weeks of the year, which is 468 hours. A 300W airer then uses 140.4kWh a year, or £36.95. The 330W model uses 154.4kWh, or £40.65. The five-year figure is the price we found plus five years of that electricity. It leaves out covers or accessories unless they come in the bundle we list.
Rated wattage is a guide, not a guarantee. When Mighty Gadget plugged a Dry:Soon 3-Tier into an energy monitor, it drew about 340 to 348W rather than 300W, so real costs can run around 15% higher than our figures. For tumble dryers, we used Which?'s running-cost figures at the same 26.32p rate, based on three loads a week.
- Rated wattage from the brand or retailer listing
- Cost per hour at 26.32p/kWh (Ofgem cap, Oct–Dec 2026)
- Yearly cost at 468 hours (3 × 6-hour sessions × 26 weeks)
- Guarantee length from the brand or retailer
- Drying space and stated maximum load
- Timer, cover and storage depth
- Owner review averages and counts at the retailer
- Independent reviews from named publications
The picks, one by one
No. 01Best overall
9.1/10Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover Bundle
The timer, the three-year guarantee and a cover in the box make this the airer that costs least to live with, even though it is not the cheapest to buy.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £194.98£244.98
- Running cost per hour (300W)
- 7.9p
- Per 6-hour session
- 47p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £36.95
- Guarantee
- 3 years (Lakeland)
- Cost over 5 years
- £379.75
Price checked: Lakeland, 10 October 2026. Sold via lakeland.co.uk.
In its favour
- Built-in timer switches it off for you
- Cover included in the bundle, which is cheaper than the airer on its own
- Three-year Lakeland guarantee
- Open front with no hinges in the way
Against it
- Most expensive pick here
- Heavier items can still take 10–12 hours without the cover
- Some plastic parts feel flimsy, per Tech Advisor
The Deluxe is Lakeland's 300W three-tier airer with 36 heated bars, 21m of drying space and a 15kg limit, about two wash loads. The main extra over the standard model is a timer that you can set from 1 to 12 hours. That matters for running costs. It is the difference between paying for six hours and paying for a whole night because you forgot to switch it off.
Lakeland currently sells the airer with its cover for £194.98, which is £5 less than the airer alone at £199.99. The cover traps warm air around the clothes, and Lakeland recommends it to speed up drying. Tech Advisor found chunky items took 10 to 12 hours without one. The Telegraph made the Deluxe its top heated airer, praising its sturdy build and the timer.
On our numbers it costs 7.9p an hour and about £37 a year in a busy household. With the purchase price, the five-year total is roughly £380. That is more than the cheaper picks, but you get three years of cover rather than one, and the timer makes it less likely you will overspend on electricity.
Buy it if
You dry indoors most of the winter and want the airer to switch itself off.
Skip it if
You only dry the odd load and do not need a timer or a long guarantee.
- Power
- 300W
- Drying space
- 21m
- Max load
- 15kg
- Timer
- Yes, 1–12 hours
- Cover
- Included
- Guarantee
- 3 years
No. 02Best value
8.6/10Black+Decker 63099 3-Tier Heated Airer
The same 300W, 21m and 15kg as the Lakeland airers for about half the price, with a shorter guarantee and no timer.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £99.99£159.99
- Running cost per hour (300W)
- 7.9p
- Per 6-hour session
- 47p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £36.95
- Guarantee
- 1 year (manufacturer)
- Cost over 5 years
- £284.76
Price checked: Robert Dyas, 10 October 2026. Sold via robertdyas.co.uk.
In its favour
- Lowest five-year cost of the full-size 21m airers
- Arrives assembled, just fold out and plug in
- Swivel arms for trousers and bedding
- Large owner base: 4.2 stars from 1,551 ratings on Amazon
Against it
- No timer, so you must remember to switch it off
- Only a one-year manufacturer's guarantee
- Shorter 1.6m cable
On paper this is the same airer as the Lakeland standard model: three tiers, 300W, 21m of drying space and a 15kg limit. It folds flat and arrives assembled. Robert Dyas has it at £99.99, down from £159.99, and Currys lists it at £160. Prices for this model swing a lot through the winter, so it is worth checking a few retailers.
Owners rate it well. It holds 4.5 stars from 466 reviews at Robert Dyas and 4.2 stars from 1,551 ratings on Amazon. It has a simple rocker switch and no timer. A forgotten overnight session costs about 95p in electricity over 12 hours, so a smart plug is worth adding.
Over five years it costs about £285 including electricity, the second-lowest here. The trade-off is the guarantee. Currys lists the manufacturer's guarantee as one year, against Lakeland's three. If an element fails in year two, the saving goes.
Buy it if
You want full-size capacity for the least money and will switch it off yourself.
Skip it if
You want a timer or a long guarantee.
- Power
- 300W
- Drying space
- 21m
- Max load
- 15kg
- Timer
- No
- Cover
- Sold separately
- Guarantee
- 1 year
No. 03Best with a cover
8.4/10Dry:Soon 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover Bundle
Lakeland's original airer and cover with the same three-year guarantee as the Deluxe, but no timer and a frame that gets in the way more.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £164.98£204.98
- Running cost per hour (300W)
- 7.9p
- Per 6-hour session
- 47p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £36.95
- Guarantee
- 3 years (Lakeland)
- Cost over 5 years
- £349.75
Price checked: Lakeland, 10 October 2026. Sold via lakeland.co.uk.
In its favour
- Three-year Lakeland guarantee
- Cover included
- Folds to 8cm deep
- Long track record: Lakeland's heated airer has been on sale since 2008
Against it
- No timer
- Only £30 less than the Deluxe bundle
- Measured draw of about 340W in one test, above the rated 300W
This is the airer most people mean when they say Dry:Soon. It is 300W, with 21m of drying space and a 15kg limit, and folds to 8cm deep. The bundle adds the fitted cover for £164.98, against £159.99 for the airer alone, so the cover costs you about £5.
Lakeland's own listing shows more than 1,000 reviews. When Mighty Gadget measured one with an energy-monitoring plug, it drew 340 to 348W, a little above its rating. At today's price that is closer to 9.2p an hour than 7.9p. Expect the yearly bill to be a few pounds higher than our table shows.
The reason it sits third is the timer. The Deluxe bundle costs £30 more and switches itself off. The Telegraph also found the standard model's hinges and shelf supports got in the way when hanging clothes front and back. If you already have a smart plug to act as a timer, this bundle is good value for a three-year guarantee.
Buy it if
You want Lakeland's guarantee and a cover, and have a smart plug or a good memory.
Skip it if
You can stretch £30 to the Deluxe bundle with its built-in timer.
- Power
- 300W
- Drying space
- 21m
- Max load
- 15kg
- Timer
- No
- Cover
- Included
- Guarantee
- 3 years
No. 04
8.0/10Dunelm 3 Tier Heated Airer
A cheap, well-reviewed tower airer from a shop you can walk into, but it draws a little more power than the rest.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £95
- Running cost per hour (330W)
- 8.7p
- Per 6-hour session
- 52p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £40.65
- Guarantee
- Not stated on the listing
- Cost over 5 years
- £298.24
Price checked: Dunelm, 10 October 2026. Sold via dunelm.com.
In its favour
- £95 is among the lowest prices here
- 4.4 stars from 1,164 reviews at Dunelm
- Easy to return in store
Against it
- 330W, so about 10% more to run than a 300W airer
- Slightly less space at 20m
- Guarantee length not shown on the product page
Dunelm's own airer is a three-tier aluminium tower with 20m of drying space and a 15kg limit. It is rated at 330W, so at the current cap it costs 8.7p an hour. That is about £3.70 a year more than a 300W model on our usage pattern. Dunelm's listing claims 4p an hour, but that does not fit a 330W rating at 26p per kWh, so we use the wattage.
It is one of the best-reviewed airers on sale, with 4.4 stars from 1,164 Dunelm reviews. Woman & Home tested it against the Dry:Soon Deluxe and found the same capacity at half the price, but a less sturdy feel. You can also buy and return it in store, which is useful for something this bulky.
The five-year total of about £298 is close to the Black+Decker. We could not find the guarantee length on the product page. Dunelm gives two years on some own-brand heating products, so ask in store before you buy. Note that Dunelm recalled a different model, its Heated Winged Airer, in January 2025 over fire risk. This tower airer was not part of that recall.
Buy it if
You want a cheap tower airer you can buy and return in person.
Skip it if
You want the lowest running cost or a clearly stated guarantee.
- Power
- 330W
- Drying space
- 20m
- Max load
- 15kg
- Timer
- No
- Cover
- Sold separately
- Guarantee
- Not stated
No. 05
7.7/10Minky sureDRI 3 Tier Heated Airer
Angled arms spread clothes out for airflow, and it is light to move, but it costs more than airers with the same specification.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £119£159
- Running cost per hour (300W)
- 7.9p
- Per 6-hour session
- 47p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £36.95
- Guarantee
- 1 year (manufacturer)
- Cost over 5 years
- £303.77
Price checked: Currys, 10 October 2026. Sold via currys.co.uk.
In its favour
- Angled Vertex arms keep clothes apart
- Light at 4.5kg
- Feet fold in so it sits flat against a wall
Against it
- £20 more than the Black+Decker for the same power and space
- Few owner reviews: 4.4 stars from 17 at Currys
- No timer
Minky's 300W tower has 21m of drying space spread across three tiers. Its angled Vertex arms push garments apart so air can move between them. Minky says it holds two full wash loads. It is the lightest full-size airer here at 4.5kg, and its feet fold in for storage.
Currys has it at £119, down from £159. Minky's own shop lists it at £129.99. Running costs match the other 300W models at 7.9p an hour. Over five years it comes to about £304, which is £19 more than the Black+Decker for what is, on paper, the same power and capacity.
There is little owner feedback so far, just 17 reviews at Currys averaging 4.4 stars. Minky's heated airers at other retailers come with a one-year guarantee. It is a sensible choice if the arm layout suits how you hang clothes, but it does not save you money.
Buy it if
You like the angled-arm layout and need a light airer to carry between rooms.
Skip it if
You just want the cheapest 21m airer.
- Power
- 300W
- Drying space
- 21m
- Max load
- Approx. 2 wash loads
- Timer
- No
- Cover
- Sold separately
- Guarantee
- 1 year
No. 06
7.4/10Beldray EH3786 3 Tier Heated Airer
The lowest price and lowest five-year cost here, but it is new to the market with almost no owner reviews and a one-year guarantee.

Cost to own
- Price today
- £94.99£99.99
- Running cost per hour (300W)
- 7.9p
- Per 6-hour session
- 47p
- Electricity per year (468 hours)
- £36.95
- Guarantee
- 1 year (manufacturer)
- Cost over 5 years
- £279.76
Price checked: Beldray, 10 October 2026. Sold via beldray.com.
In its favour
- Lowest five-year cost in this guide
- 36 heated bars
- Longer 1.8m cable
Against it
- Very few owner reviews so far
- One-year guarantee
- 30kg claim is double the others and hard to square with the same frame size
Beldray's three-tier airer went on sale in late 2025. It has 36 heated aluminium bars, 300W of power and 20m of drying space, at £94.99 direct from Beldray. Currys has the black version at £99.99. At 7.9p an hour, its five-year total of about £280 is the lowest here.
We have less to go on than with the others. Amazon shows a single rating so far, and Currys lists a one-year manufacturer's guarantee. Beldray says it holds 30kg of laundry, twice the figure every other brand gives for a similar frame. We would plan around a normal two-load wash rather than that number.
It ranks last because the saving over the Black+Decker is only £5 over five years. The Black+Decker has a long record of owner reviews behind it. If the Beldray is the one in stock, it should do the same job.
Buy it if
You want the lowest price and it is in stock when others are not.
Skip it if
You prefer a model with a long track record of owner reviews.
- Power
- 300W
- Drying space
- 20m
- Max load
- 30kg (claimed)
- Timer
- No
- Cover
- Sold separately
- Guarantee
- 1 year
Side by side
| Spec | Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover Bundle | Black+Decker 63099 3-Tier Heated Airer | Dry:Soon 3-Tier Heated Airer and Cover Bundle | Dunelm 3 Tier Heated Airer | Minky sureDRI 3 Tier Heated Airer | Beldray EH3786 3 Tier Heated Airer |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Power | 300W | 300W | 300W | 330W | 300W | 300W |
| Drying space | 21m | 21m | 21m | 20m | 21m | 20m |
| Max load | 15kg | 15kg | 15kg | 15kg | Approx. 2 wash loads | 30kg (claimed) |
| Timer | Yes, 1–12 hours | No | No | No | No | No |
| Cover | Included | Sold separately | Included | Sold separately | Sold separately | Sold separately |
| Guarantee | 3 years | 1 year | 3 years | Not stated | 1 year | 1 year |
What we looked at and left out
- Lakeland DrySoon Heated Drying PodFaster, but Lakeland's own figure puts it at about 26p an hour and it holds around 12 hanging items, not a full load.
- Dry:Soon Tri:Mode 3-Tier Heated Hub£199.99 for a hanger-based design that costs more than the Deluxe bundle with no running-cost advantage.
- Dry:Soon Winged Heated Clothes AirerListed as discontinued on Lakeland's site in October 2026.
- Dunelm 3 Tier A Frame Heated AirerSame 330W draw as the tower model but only 15m of drying space, for £100.
- Minky Sure Dri Heat Pod ProArgos lists a 1,000W maximum, more than three times the power of a heated airer.
Before you buy
Heated airer or tumble dryer: what the numbers say
A 300W heated airer costs about 7.9p an hour at the October 2026 cap. A typical 6-hour session is 47p. Which? puts the average vented tumble dryer at £139.74 a year and condensers at £138.91, at three loads a week. That works out at about 90p a load. Heat-pump dryers average £54.32 a year, or about 35p a load.
So a heated airer is roughly half the cost of a vented or condenser dryer per session. But it can cost more than a heat-pump dryer if you leave it on for long periods. A full 21m airer holds about two loads, which brings it to around 24p a load if you fill it. The saving comes from filling it and switching it off on time.
- Vented or condenser dryer: about 90p a load (Which?, 26.32p/kWh)
- Heat-pump dryer: about 35p a load
- 300W heated airer, 6 hours: about 47p, or about 24p a load if it holds two
Hours matter more than watts
Every airer in this guide is rated at 300W or 330W. The gap between them is less than 1p an hour. What changes your bill is how long the airer stays on. Twelve hours overnight costs 95p. Six hours costs 47p.
A built-in timer, like the one on the Dry:Soon Deluxe, or a smart plug with a schedule stops you paying for hours after the clothes are dry. A smart plug costs around £10 and works with any of these airers.
Use a cover
A cover traps warm air around the bars and the clothes. Lakeland recommends one to speed up drying, and Tech Advisor said thick items took 10 to 12 hours on the uncovered Deluxe. Fewer hours means less electricity.
Lakeland's bundles currently cost only about £5 more than the airer alone, so the cover is close to free. Black+Decker sells a version with wheels and a cover, and Dunelm sells a cover separately.
Manage the damp
Water from your clothes has to go somewhere. In a closed room it ends up on windows and walls. Open a window slightly, or run the airer in a room with a dehumidifier. A dehumidifier adds its own running cost, so check its wattage too.
Guarantees are part of the price
Lakeland gives three years on Dry:Soon airers. Black+Decker, Minky and Beldray give one year, according to retailer listings. A heated airer has a simple element, but if one fails in year two, a £60 saving disappears quickly. We would pay more for the longer guarantee if you plan to use it every winter.
Questions readers ask
How much does a heated clothes airer cost to run per hour?
A 300W airer costs about 7.9p an hour at the October to December 2026 price cap of 26.32p per kWh. A 330W model costs about 8.7p. Your own rate may differ, so multiply the wattage by your unit rate.
Is a heated airer cheaper than a tumble dryer?
It is cheaper than a vented or condenser dryer, which average about 90p a load according to Which?. It is roughly level with a heat-pump dryer at about 35p a load, as long as you fill the airer and do not leave it on for too long.
How long does a heated airer take to dry clothes?
It depends on the fabric, the room and whether you use a cover. Tech Advisor found jumpers and jeans took 10 to 12 hours on an uncovered Dry:Soon Deluxe. A cover and a well-ventilated room both help.
Can I leave a heated airer on overnight?
Most are designed for long sessions. Lakeland says the Dry:Soon can run for up to 24 hours and should then cool for about two hours. Overnight use costs about 95p for 12 hours on a 300W model, so a timer saves money.
Do I need a cover?
No, but it shortens drying times by holding warm air in. Lakeland's airer and cover bundles cost only about £5 more than the airer alone at current prices.
Are heated airers safe?
Buy from a major retailer and check product recall lists. Dunelm recalled its Heated Winged Airer in January 2025 because it could overheat. Do not cover the bars with anything other than the maker's own cover, and do not put soaking wet clothes on them.
Does a heated airer heat the room?
A little. 300W is about a fifth of a small fan heater, so it takes the chill off a small room but will not replace your heating.
Sources
- [1]Ofgem: Energy price cap unit rates, 1 October to 31 December 2026
- [2]Which?: How much does a tumble dryer cost to run?
- [3]Lakeland: Dry:Soon range specifications (wattage, space, dimensions)
- [4]Tech Advisor: Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier Heated Clothes Airer review
- [5]The Telegraph: Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-Tier Heated Airer review
- [6]Mighty Gadget: Dry:Soon 3-Tier Heated Airer review (measured power draw)
- [7]Woman & Home: Dry:Soon Deluxe 3-tier Heated Airer review
- [8]Currys: Black+Decker 63099 Heated Clothes Airer listing (guarantee)
- [9]GOV.UK: Product recall, Dunelm Heated Winged Airer (2501-0138)
First published 16 September 2026. Spotted something out of date? Tell us.


